this is a snapshot blog of:

glass in concrete

My fascination for fifties and sixties abstract art was fed while I was driving back home from Antwerp recently. I was in the outskirts of Antwerp heading for the motorway when I came across a church. The church is full of stained glass and because the it was closed I asked the pastor if he would let me have a look. A wonderful interior with different types of glass, some in lead, some in concrete (or mortar). Someone modelled the church in 3d but it is no way near as to how the interior looks with the light and the colours.

Mijn fasninatie voor abstracte kunst uit de jaren ’50 en ’60 werd gevoed toen ik laatst vanuit Antwerpen terug naar huis reed. Ik bevond me in een buitenwijk van Antwerpen op zoek naar de snelweg toen ik deze kerk tegenkwam. De kerk is vol met glas-in-lood en glas-in-beton en omdat de kerk gesloten was vroeg ik de pastoor of hij me binnen wilde laten kijken. Ik kwam in een prachtig interieur overal verlicht door daglicht dat door gekleurd glas naar binnen valt. Iemand heeft de kerk in 3d gemodelleerd, maar het komt niet in de buurt van hoe de kerk eruit ziet van binnen.

Leave a Reply

