this is a snapshot blog of:

OMA Villa

This double villa in the Rotterdam suburb of Kralingen was designed for the Linthorst family. Designed in 1988 by Rem Koolhaas’ Office for Metropolitan Architecture (OMA). It is located on a levee with a height difference of 2,5 meter above street level. One of these villa has an internal patio through which the spaces against the levee at the ground floor get daylight. But according to a prominent architectural critic at the time this particular patio has a deeper meaning: ‘philosophical treatises can be linked to the patio house on the emptiness of the center as a symbol for an era in which man is no longer taking in a central position’. Seen through todays eyes the exterior looks rather bleak.

see also: Kunsthal
see also: Villa Lommel

 

2 responses

  1. Elizabeth Poot Harlingen

    Reinder, ik was inderijd de begeleidende stedenbouwkundige.
    Het waren volgens mij twee villa,s en de situatie was heel specifiek. Er lag al jaren langs de Ringvaart een reservering voor het Hertoginnetracee. Toen dat niet meer gewenst was is deze strook gebouwd voor kleine villa,s in aansluiting op het buurtje (op oorlogspuin) Bovenover Onderlangs.Daar staat ook een leuk huisje van Herman Haan.
    De bebouwingsvoorschriften waren tamelijk stringent maar er kon een benenedenverdieping worden geraliseerd in het talud. Wethouder Joop Linthorst en buro Koolhaas (zijn eerste bouwwerk in Rotterdam) hebben zich daar keurig aan gehouden. Het RETkantoortje bij CS ( de pannekoek) is helaas gesloopt.

    2012/06/29 at 14:11

    • Interessant om te weten! Zelf kende ik het huis al van tijdens mijn studie, leuk om er eens langsgeweest te zijn. Zoals ik al schreef doet het exterieur voor mij wat gedateerd aan maar ik denk dat het interieur en de typolgie het interessantst zijn.

      2012/07/01 at 10:19

Leave a Reply

